News, Events, Press and Awards

Global Shortlist Announced for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2012

Global Shortlist Announced for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2012

The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize is awarded annually to the best work of contemporary fiction in translation. The Prize celebrates an exceptional work of fiction by a living author which has been translated into English from any other language and published in the United Kingdom in 2011. Uniquely, the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize acknowledges both the writer and the translator equally, recognising the importance of the translator in their ability to bridge the gap between languages and cultures. The winning author and translator will be awarded £5,000 each and a limited edition magnum of Champagne Taittinger.

The six contenders shortlisted for the 2012 Prize are:
-Alice by Judith Hermann, translated from the German by Margot Bettauer Dembo (The Clerkenwell Press)
-Blooms of Darkness by Aharon Appelfeld, translated from the Hebrew by Jeffrey M. Green (Alma Books)
-Dream of Ding Village by Yan Lianke, translated from the Chinese by Cindy Carter (Corsair)
-From the Mouth of the Whale by Sjón, translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb (Telegram Books)
-New Finnish Grammar by Diego Marani, translated from the Italian by Judith Landry (Dedalus)
-The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco, translated from the Italian by Richard Dixon (Harvill Secker)

The overall winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2012 will be announced at an award ceremony on Monday 14 May at the Royal Institute of British Architects in central London.

To be eligible for the 2012 Prize, entries (fiction or short stories) had to be published in English translation in the UK between 1 January 2011 and 31 December 2011. The author must be living at the time that the translation is published.

Previous winners of the Prize include Milan Kundera in 1991 for Immortality translated by Peter Kussi; W G Sebald and translator, Anthea Bell, in 2002 for Austerlitz; and Per Petterson and translator, Anne Born, in 2006 for Out Stealing Horses. The 2011 winner was Red April by the Peruvian author Santiago Roncagliolo, translated from the Spanish by Edith Grossman.

Click here to download full article
Close X

Our website uses cookies to track visits to our website. We store no personal details. Please see our cookie policy for more information.