The Errazuriz Winery was established in 1870 when the founder Don Maximiano Errazuriz first brought vines to the area. The original building still stands and now serves as a cellar door and dining space with the spectacular underground cellars being used for museum wine storage and hospitality.
A new temperature controlled barrel hall with a capacity of 15,000 barrels was added in 2007. Diurnal heating/cooling saves energy and areas can be separated off to provide warmer conditions for fermentation.
Two brand new winery buildings were completed in 2010; one for Max Reserva wines and one for the Errazuriz flagships. In the Max Reserva winery, a huge selection of different tank sizes, gravity flow and open top fermenters are now available to the winemaking team to give them more flexibility in their continuing quest for the best quality. The Don Maximiano Icon Winery is an architecturally stunning masterpiece with oak fermenters and environmentally friendly 'ground source' heating/cooling. Sitting alongside the original 1870 building, these new developments show the importance of respecting the company's heritage whilst having a clear vision for the future.